Our Leadership

rabbiberkson_150x150Rabbi Marc E. Berkson

Rabbi Marc E. Berkson has been with us since 1999 and is only the congregation’s sixth senior rabbi since the merger of Emanu-El and B’ne Jeshurun in 1927. Active in a wide range of local and regional Jewish, inter-religious, and human relations programs and organizations, Rabbi Berkson brings his love of teaching and his community-building skills to CEEBJ.
View more

rabbischaller_150x150Rabbi Toba Schaller

Rabbi Toba Schaller serves our community as Rabbi- Director of Lifelong Learning.  In addition to overseeing our Religious School, Adult and Family Education programs, Rabbi Schaller works with Rabbi Berkson and Cantor Barash in worship, pastoral and life cycle events.  Rabbi Schaller was ordained from Hebrew Union College – Jewish Institute of Religion in New York City, where she also received a Masters in Religious Education.
View more

cantor-barash_150x150Cantor David Barash

Cantor David Barash has served at Congregation Emanu-El B’ne Jeshurun in Milwaukee, Wisconsin since 2001.  David loves engaging congregants through Jewish music: working with adult and children’s choirs; conducting our congregational band; directing our annual Purim spiels; leading participatory Shabbat, Festival, and High Holy Day services.
View more


Marc E. Berkson
The Allan H. and Suzanne L. Selig Rabbinic Chair

Rabbi-Director of
Lifelong Learning

Toba L. Schaller

Rabbi Emeritus
Francis Barry Silberg, PhD, DD

David M. Barash

Michael Levin

Interim Executive Director
Betty Lieberman

Member Services
Margie Stein

President of
Temple Brotherhood 

Garrett Butenhoff

President of
Women of Emanu-El

Ruth Treisman

Executive Vice President

Sandra Kohler Stern

Vice Presidents
Andrew Appel
Amy Kazilsky
Barbara Levin
Betty Lieberman
Sherry Malmon

Margo Zimmermann

Michael Grinker

Immediate Past President
Bruce A. Keyes

Board of Trustees
Mark Holland
Ruth Kantrowitz
Hal Karas
Reenie Kavalar
Richard Masters
Dana Michael
Robert A. Miller
Tamara Miller
Todd Richheimer
Jodi Habush Sinykin
Nadine Zuckerman

michael-levin_150x150Michael Levin – President

Michael joined CEEBJ after moving to the Milwaukee area in 2006 with his wife Barb and two sons. Michael attended Yale University and completed medical school and residency at Washington University in St Louis. Michael has been active in the with Temple Brotherhood as vice president, treasurer and president. He is pleased to bring back the CEEBJ variety show and participate as a proud member of the Levin Family Quartet. He has …View more

betty-lieberman_150x150Betty Lieberman – Interim Executive Director

Betty Lieberman returns to CEEBJ as Interim Executive Director, a position she held from August 2008 until September 2009.  Before working at CEEBJ, Betty was employed by the Milwaukee Jewish Federation for 24 years.  During that time, she directed several departments, including Properties and Capital Building Projects, Human Resources, and Planning and Strategic Services.
View more

Margie Stein – Member Services Coordinator

Margie Stein joined our staff as Events Coordinator since 2009. Margie was been Special Projects Director at the Milwaukee Jewish Federation. She coordinates congregation dinners, oneg, child care, and caterers on the day of the event.
View more